The Tap Scholar Program

Founded in 1995 to honor the life of CHRP co-founder, Kelly Michaels, the Rhythm World Tap Scholar Award program has provided more than $350,000 in financial aid to over 300 talented, deserving young dancers from around Chicago, the United States and international exchange.

The Tap Scholar Award program conducts an audition in Chicago every February as a part of the Winter Tap Jamboree where the majority of awards are made and holds auditions in Tokyo, Rio De Janeiro, Zurich, Toronto and various American cities. The Award decisions are based on a combination of criteria including skill, talent and financial need with the intention of creating a diverse mix of young dancers dedicated to furthering their tap and percussive dance education every summer at CHRP’s Rhythm World.

Rhythm World is the oldest, largest and most comprehensive festival of American tap and contemporary percussive arts in the world, annually attracting hundreds of students from around the globe to study with an internationally acclaimed faculty of 25 – 30 master teachers and performers. Over the last 22 years, many Tap Scholar Award winners, including Jumaane Taylor, Ian Berg, Starinah Dixon, Nico Rubio, Sean Kaminski, and Donnetta Jackson, have gone on to successful careers in teaching, choreographing and performing.

Tap Scholar Alumni

Tap Scholars 2015-2019

Roxanne King 2015
Elizabeth Carroll 2015
Alexis Stevenson 2015
Sarah Huskey 2015
Kharaan Abraham 2015
Tyler Booker 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
Molly Sute 2015
Gabriel Cortez 2015
Taiga Nagai 2015
Vivian Shimizu 2015
Brianna Carmichael 2015
Molly Favreau 2015
Frances Fay 2015
Tanzania Covington 2015, 2018
Ivy Anderson 2016, 2017, 2018
Audrey Bartley 2016
Noah Brewington 2016
Jasmyn Bush 2016
Jordyn Bush 2016
Andrew Carr 2016, 2017, 2019
Skyy Echoles 2016
Kelsey Fields 2016
Alexandrya Fryson 2016, 2017, 2018
Haley Grier 2016
Reese Hafner 2016
Haley Hampton 2016
Savannah Martin 2016
Kristin Meyer 2016
Emily Monsrud 2016
Clark Rulon 2016, 2017
Emily Voogd 2016
Antonio Welsch 2016
Isabella Welsch 2016
Alex Miller 2017
Antonio Houston 2017
Melanie Smeltzer 2017, 2018
Nathan Graff 2017
Mia Murphy 2017
Kazuma Tanizawa 2017
Miu Nakagawa 2017
Aoshi Ichimura 2017
Moa Imai 2017
Sofia Alonso 2017
Caleb Jackson 2018, 2019
Aryonna Grier 2018, 2019
Enrica Uhlen 2018
Ja Kayla Harris 2018, 2019
Kennedy Coleman 2018
Zayvion Rubio 2018, 2019
Maliah Keaton 2019